Congratulations to the Performing Arts Department at Fort Scott High School!  They have been recognized by the Kansas State High School Activities Association for outstanding performing arts programs.  

Fort Scott was listed as one of 30 schools to be commended for outstanding performance.  A total of 36 schools were recognized.  

Below is the KSHSAA press release.  



August 24, 2021


Pittsburg High School Honored by the KSHSAA


PITTSBURG, Kan. – Pittsburg High School has been selected as the KSHSAA Performing Arts School of Excellence award winner and a total of 36 Kansas high schools will receive recognition by the Kansas State High School Activities Association (KSHSAA) for outstanding performing arts programs.


A selection committee was formed from the following associations: Kansas Music Educators Association (KMEA), Kan­sas Speech Communication Association (KSCA) and the Kansas Thespians. Leaders from these three associations along with the KSHSAA staff collaborated to discuss numerous high schools that scored exceptionally high in debate, speech, music and theater during the 2020-21 school year. The committee and the KSHSAA chose one winner, five finalists and 30 commended schools from across our great state. All 36 schools will be recognized with a certificate from the KSH­SAA in September.


Winner:  Pittsburg High School


Finalists:  Lawrence-Free State High School, McPherson High School, Olathe East High School, Paola High School, Shawnee Mission-Bishop Miege High School


Commended: De Soto High School, Ellinwood High School, Fort Scott High School, Garden City High School, Greens­burg-Kiowa County High School, Kansas City-Sumner Academy, Lansing High School, Lawrence High School, Louis­burg High School, Maize High School, Moundridge High School, Norton Community High School, Olathe South High School, Overland Park-Blue Valley High School, Overland Park-Blue Valley North High School, Overland Park-Blue Valley Northwest High School, Overland Park-Blue Valley Southwest High School, Phillipsburg High School, Rosalia-Flinthills High School, Salina-Sacred Heart High School, Salina-South High School, Silver Lake High School, St. George-Rock Creek High School, Sterling High School, Sylvan-Lucas Unified High School, Tecumseh-Shawnee Heights High School, Tonganoxie High School, Topeka-Hayden High School, Topeka-Washburn Rural High School, Wichita-Collegiate High School


“The KSHSAA made a commitment to our schools in 2018 to annually recognize outstanding performing arts schools in the State of Kansas. This award is a wonderful testimony to our schools’ professionalism and efforts with our amazing students. These schools really stepped up and made the most of our virtual championships and festivals,” said Craig Man­teuffel, KSHSAA. “It is very difficult to thrive in all categories of the performing arts and we are so proud to honor these 36 schools in 2021-22.”


Bill Faflick, KSHSAA Executive Director joined Manteuffel and the Pittsburg High School administration to make the announcement during an all staff meeting at 7:30 a.m. today. School administration and the performing arts department of Pittsburg High School will be recognized with a plaque by the KSHSAA at halftime of their home football game on October 1st.